Fabrizia Benini

Head of Unit Digital Economy and Skills, European Commission

A lawyer by training, Fabrizia Benini joined the European Commission in 1995.
Throughout her career, she worked on the intersection between regulatory frameworks and technological developments taking into account the users’ perspective.
At present, she heads the Digital Economy and Skills unit in the Commission’s Directorate-General for communications networks, content and technology.
Her work focuses on the digital economy and society, its measurement and the impact digital development may have on the labour market and on skills.
In that context, one of her main tasks is to devise policy responses to the current digital skills gap.

Yvonne de Kort

Professor, TU/e

Prof.dr.ir. Yvonne de Kort is full professor of environmental psychology in the Human-Technology Interaction group and vice dean of the department of Industrial Engineering and Innovation Sciences at Eindhoven University of Technology, the Netherlands. With her group, she investigates effects of lighting conditions on vigilance, vitality, and behaviour, combining psychology, chronobiology, engineering and neuroscience. Yvonne manages the interdepartmental Sound Lighting research programme in TU/e’s Intelligent Lighting Institute and the Mental Health programme in TU/e’s Centre for Humans and Technology. She coordinates national and European projects, among which a recently acquired European Training Network under the Marie Skłodowska-Curie ITN framework.

Pierre Dillenbourg

Professor, EPFL

A former elementary school teacher, Pierre Dillenbourg started his research on learning technologies in 1984, obtaining his PhD in the field of AI applications for education. In 2002, he joined EPFL where he has been academic director of the Center for Digital Education, which implements EPFL’s MOOC strategy (over 2 million registrations). He is full professor in learning technologies at the School of Computer & Communication Sciences, heading the Lab “Computer-Human Interaction for Learning & Instruction”. He is director of DUAL-T, which develops technologies for dual vocational education systems. In 2017, Dillenbourg launched the Swiss EdTech Collider, an incubator for start-ups in learning technologies. In 2018, he co-founded LEARN, the EPFL Centre of Learning Sciences. 

Andreas Goll Rossau

Vice-President, PF, DTU

Coming from a small town in the middle of nowhere and studying software engineering, politics were not high on the list of things that Andreas Goll Rossau expected to do in his life. Starting his studies at the Technical University of Denmark (DTU), however, he quickly became involved in the student association there, Polyteknisk Forening (PF). Having discovered a new passion, he was elected Vice-President of PF in 2018. His responsibilities at PF include national political matters, international cooperation and international students at DTU. Andreas Goll Rossau also sits on the board of the National Union of Students in Denmark (DSF). 

Thomas F. Hofmann

President, TUM

Following his studies in food chemistry in Erlangen-Nuremberg, Thomas F. Hofmann completed his doctorate and postdoctoral studies at the Technical University of Munich (TUM). After becoming deputy director of the German Research Center for Food Chemistry in 1999, he was appointed Chair of Food Chemistry at the University of Münster in 2002. In 2007, he returned to TUM as full professor of Food Chemistry and Molecular Sensory Science. He coordinated the Knowledge & Innovation Community EIT FOOD of the European Institute of Technology in 2016 and, has been member of its Board since 2017. In 2017, he was appointed director of the new Leibniz-Institute for Food Systems Biology. From 2009 to 2019, he served as Senior Vice President Research & Innovation. He is the president of TUM since October 2019.

Sean Klein

Moderator, Sean Klein Media

Sean Klein is a media professional. After more than twenty years as a senior journalist with the BBC – with particular focus on European and EU issues – he founded SeanKlein Media Ltd. He specialises in broadcast media communications; on-air performance coaching; media strategy; event moderation and content; and crisis management. He is also a qualified linguist (French, German, Italian).
Sean has worked on projects for various EU DGs, international think tanks, not-for-profit foundations and in the commercial sector in different parts of the world. Sean brings team management and motivational skills and a high degree of professionalism to all his assignments.

Marie-Noëlle Semeria

CTO, Total

Marie-Noëlle Semeria is Chief Technology Officer of Total, leading all technological strategy, policy and implementation for one of France’s largest corporations & a major global player in energy and innovation.
Dr Semeria previously served as CEO of CEA-Leti & President of the Network of Carnot Institutes, two of the world’s leading high-tech research organizations. Her professional experience spanned a range of technology advances, from major industry and start-ups to public research and education.
She also served as board member for prestigious French & European scientific and technology organizations. Awarded the French Legion of Honour (2011) & the Order of Merit (2015), Semeria has been recognized not only for her professional accomplishments, but for contributions to developing scientific and technical frameworks that help serve society.

Uri Sivan

President, Technion

Prof. Sivan joined Technion’s Physics Department in 1991, after three years at IBM T. J. Watson Research Center in the US. His early scientific career focused on the physics of miniature electronic devices. His interest later shifted to the interface between nanotechnology, physics and biology. Sivan’s scientific achievements have been internationally recognized and his studies resulted in several tech transfers to industry, incl. a start-up developing tools for analysis of cancer cells. Sivan served as founding director of Technion’s Russell Berrie Nanotechnology Institute. Two years ago, he established Israel’s academic programme in quantum science. Deeply interested in science education, Sivan led the “Science for All” programme for high school students. Sivan has been President of the Technion since October 2019.

Niklas Nienaß

Member of European Parliament

Born in 1992 in Marl and living in Mecklenburg-Western Pomerania since 2013, Niklas Nienaß describes himself as child of the German reunification and as European. Since July 2019 he is Member of the European Parliament for Alliance 90/The Greens. Nienaß is coordinator for the group in the Committee on Regional Development and member in the Committee on Culture and Education. Moreover, he is member of the parliamentary delegations for Albania as well as Central Asia and Mongolia. In addition, he belongs to the European Parliament’s ”Spinelli Group“, a group of pro-European Members of the European Parliament from various political groups.